Learning Repeat Codes + Multiple Codes per button press

Everything related to learning and capturing of IR Codes

Moderator: marcus

Learning Repeat Codes + Multiple Codes per button press

Postby xdthomas » Mon 31. Aug 2009, 16:36

Hi, I know there is a very similar post about just below here, but I'm hoping this might be just different enough to warrant a new topic...

Here's the deal - I have an Adesso ARC-1100 remote (basically a MCE remote). I have successfully learned all of the buttons on it, and it almost works great! The only problem is that I cannot successfully program repeat codes (if that's the proper term - I want to be able to hold down my Volume Up button and have it continually run the Vol+ command). Currently what happens is that I will press my Volume Up key and it will register only once even though I continually hold down the button. I have tried learning the code using the "Repeat Code" option, but that doesn't seem to register or match at all in the "detected IR commands" window.

Even more, when I press the Volume Up on my remote, it registers 3 different codes (one for a "keydown", one for a "hold" and one for a "keyup") so if I quickly press the Volume Up button, it registers the following:
Code: Select all
09:12:34 : 4332012100210
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 43333210330

The first code [4332012100210] being the code that has been learned and matched to the [Vol+] button in my .rem file.

Now if I hold the button down, I get the following:
Code: Select all
09:12:34 : 4332012100210
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 433021210330
09:12:34 : 43333210330

The middle code being repeated until I let go of the button.

Now for good measure, I confused myself more by following the previous topic "Different codes for same command?" and changed my Recv Timeout to 90 seconds (I was using 15ms to capture all of these other codes). After changing the Timeout, the codes displayed for pressing the button now were different based on how quick I tap the button, so now when I hit the Volume Up key as quickly as possibly, I get:
Code: Select all
09:18:28 : 433201210021543302121033543333210330

when I tap it not as quickly I get
Code: Select all
09:20:11 : 433201210021543302121033543302121033543302121033543302121033543333210330

and then when I hold the button for a extended period I get
Code: Select all
09:26:56 : 433021210330
09:26:57 : 433021210330
09:26:57 : 433021210330
09:26:57 : 433021210330


Well, clearly, I am lost and don't know what I'm doing - but I've run out of ideas for trying to fool around with stuff until it works. What should my Recv Timeout properly be set to? Have I merely been cropping out sections of the received IR codes by setting the threshold so low at 15ms? How can I properly program my remote for Repeat Codes?

Thanks in advance to any kind soul willing to help, it is greatly appreciated!!!!
xdthomas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 31. Aug 2009, 15:53

Re: Learning Repeat Codes + Multiple Codes per button press

Postby IRTrans » Mon 31. Aug 2009, 21:15

Hmm, difficult to say - normally using "Learn Repeat Code" should do the job.

What is learned when the repeat code option is used ?

It is important to use the 15ms Timeout when learning the cde.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32

Re: Learning Repeat Codes + Multiple Codes per button press

Postby xdthomas » Tue 1. Sep 2009, 01:29

Thank you so much for the response!

When I learn the remote using the "Repeat Code" option here's what I get in my .rem file:
(by the way, the steps I perform to do this: 1. I enter the code name "Vol+", 2. I select "Repeat Code" from the drop-down of options, 3. I first click on "Learn Timing", 4. I re-enter the code name "Vol+", 5. I click on "Learn Command" once more - that's how I got these results).
Code: Select all
[REMOTE]
  [NAME]AdessoLearnWithRepeatCode

[TIMING]
  [0][N]5[1]432 560[2]464 1016[3]912 560[4]968 992[5]1976 1024[RC]1[RP]0[FREQ]39
  [1][PULSE200][PULSE]0[N]4[1]2776[2]1760[3]760[4]1280[RC]1[RP]0[FREQ]40

[COMMANDS]
  [Vol+@][T]1[D]011233332110

When i go and check the "Detected IR Commands" and hold down my Volume Up button it doesn't "match" any of the codes to the .rem file values:
Code: Select all
17:50:56 : 4332012100210
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 43333210330



If I perform the same exact thing without the repeat codes, here's what I get in the .rem file:
Code: Select all
[REMOTE]
  [NAME]AdessoLearnWithTiming

[TIMING]
  [0][N]5[1]456 536[2]456 1024[3]936 536[4]936 1024[5]1976 1024[RC]1[RP]0[FREQ]39

[COMMANDS]
  [Vol+][T]0[D]4332012100210


Now when i go and check the "Detected IR Commands" and hold down my Volume Up button it "matches" only the first code, and thus does not "repeat" the command as the button is held down:
Code: Select all
17:50:56 : adessolearnwithtiming vol+
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 433021210330
17:50:56 : 43333210330
xdthomas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 31. Aug 2009, 15:53

Re: Learning Repeat Codes + Multiple Codes per button press

Postby IRTrans » Tue 1. Sep 2009, 09:46

OK, now I see what the problem is: The Repeat code is recognized as a special mode and therefore it looks different.

Please send us an Email with the exact Hardware configuration of your IRTrans device. We can then send you a firmware update.
The current firmware should fix that.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32


Return to Learning of IR Codes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests